Immánuel – Spurgeon verse (Immanuel – A Poem by Spurgeon)

– C.H. Spurgeon (1834 – 1892)

 (Ezt a verset Spurgeon 18 éves korában írta.)

“Immánuel, 
ami azt jelenti: Velünk az Isten.” (Mát. 1:23).

Bűneim terhét mikor gyászolva cipeltem;
s lelkiismeretem mélyen sebzett engem;
sok gyarló tettem mind félrehullt, erőtlen;
és én térdeimre hulltam, imádkoztam csendben;
s akkor – boldog óra, hogy’ feledhetnélek! –
megismertem szereteted, Uram, Immánuel.

Szomorú viharok olykor tépik lelkem;
máskor a törődés hullámai nagyon átölelnek;
ám vigasz és öröm van, hogy tovatűnnek;
s csak reménytelen bánat tátong fel helyükben;
ám egy szó, s csendesül a vihar dühöngése –
s e szó: szent Neved, Uram, Immánuel.

Az igazságért van, hogy gyalázat ér engem;
ellenségeim botrányokkal sározzák be nevem;
kegyetlen tréfák és gúnykacajok jönnek;
„Básán bikái” körbekerítenek,
ám én tornyodban lakozom biztosan, csendesen –
s e torony: kegyelmed, Uram, Immánuel.

Mikor a dühödt pokol üvölt rám erejével;
és elém vág a sátán, hogy utam szegje nékem;
ellenségeim meg ujjongva várják végemet;
és felém légiónyi seregek nyilai röpülnek;
ne félj, lelkem, csak ronts rá a pokolra bátran –
hangos csatakiáltással: ami a Te Neved, Uram, Immánuel.

Az élet hegyéről mikor már majd lefelé tartok;
s majd’ elsodorják léptem halálos hullámok;
és én már süllyedek a mélyülő árban;
s barátaim könnyezve a meredélyen állnak;
utolsó búcsúmban, mely felszáll belőlem –
a Te gyönyörű Neved lesz ott, Uram, Immánuel.

Könnyeim mikor végleg letörlöd szememről;
s egy szebb világ felém elközelg;
mikor a menny szépsége bűvöli tekintetem;
és én édes örömben mártózom majd meg;
lesz egy boldogság, mely felette áll mindnek –
az, hogy szent arcod láthatom, Uram, Immánuel!

ENGLISH:

(A poem written by Spurgeon at the age of 18.)

“Emmanuel, 
which being interpreted is, God with us” (Matthew 1:23).

When once I mourned a load of sin;
When conscience felt a wound within;
When all my works were thrown away;
When on my knees I knelt to pray,
Then, blissful hour, remembered well,
I learned Thy love, Immanuel.

When storms of sorrow toss my soul;
When waves of care around me roll;
When comforts sink, when joys shall flee;
When hopeless griefs shall gape for me,
One word the tempest’s rage shall quell–
That word, Thy name, Immanuel.

When for the truth I suffer shame;
When foes pour scandal on my name;
When cruel taunts and jeers abound;
When “Bulls of Bashan” gird me round,
Secure within Thy tower I’ll dwell–
That tower, Thy grace, Immanuel.

When hell enraged lifts up her roar;
When Satan stops my path before;
When fiends rejoice and wait my end;
When legioned hosts their arrows send,
Fear not, my soul, but hurl at hell
Thy battle-cry, Immanuel.

When down the hill of life I go;
When o’er my feet death’s waters flow;
When in the deep’ning flood I sink;
When friends stand weeping on the brink,
I’ll mingle with my last farewell
Thy lovely name, Immanuel.

When tears are banished from mine eye;
When fairer worlds than these are nigh;
When heaven shall fill my ravished sight;
When I shall bathe in sweet delight,
One joy all joys shall far excel,
To see Thy face, Immanuel.

Forrás/Source: http://www.whatsaiththescripture.com/Poetry/Immanuel.html Ford.: wordwatcherdawn

Immánuel – Spurgeon verse (Immanuel – A Poem by Spurgeon)” bejegyzéshez ozzászólás

    1. Yes, exactly – that is what touched me deeply, too.
      May the Lord grant that we would have many young people like this – with their hearts burning for Jesus. And may we be like this, too, even until the end.
      Thank you for your comment – it was so good to hear from you. God bless you.

      1. Thank you, Hanelka, and may it be so! Your comment made me think of the poems my son Evan wrote while in his late teens. I have a selection on my blog if you are interested. The link is here: http://wp.me/P1tyXU-rC . (You may especially like “What Was Done Through the Life He Gave?” and “This is Who I Am?”, though they are all rich and beautiful in my opinion.) I hope you enjoy!
        Love and blessings!
        David

  1. Such a beautiful poem from such a great preacher. His life was a treasury of pearls ready to give freely to all who would and do still listen. Thank you so much for visiting and following poetrycottage.

Comments/Hozzászólások

