The Cross in the Sky

– by wordwatcherdawn

[Note: My mother tongue is not English, so please bear with me patiently, I am not as fluent in my writing in English as I would love to – I am still studying:-)]

As I was contemplating on Easter and all that it means to me, I was just filled with gratitude towards the Lord. Thinking about the cross of Jesus I remembered the following verses from the Bible:

“For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” (1Cor 1:18, ESV) “But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.” (Gal 6:14, ESV)

And then I remembered the very first time I came across with the cross of Jesus. That was the first time when God revealed Himself to me. I was still a child and it happened in a very memorable way – in such a way that was deeply engrained upon my memory and heart. Let me just write it down now as a thankful tribute to my Savior, to His glory, in celebration of His glorious resurrection.

So at that time I was about 6 years old. That was back in the old communist era of our country, some 30 years ago, when talking about God was not at all appreciated. It could have caused losing a daily living, a workplace, and the favor of the system. I hadn’t heard much about the Lord as I was growing up.

It happened once, though, on a shiny day that some of us – just the kids from the neighborhood – were playing outside the grey and dilapidated 10-storey block of flats where we were living at the time. I remember standing outside the main entrance and looking up into the sky, just having fun, feeling fine, when I saw something: high up in the air, above one of the clouds I glimpsed a brown cross. It was actually standing on one of the clouds. To me it seemed so straight, so sharply noticeable up there that it couldn’t have been a mirage or the contrivance of my childish imagination. I was astonished and began to say to the people there: hey, look, what’s that, there’s a cross up there – but as I was very young, nobody was paying attention to my words. I tried to draw some people’s attention to it, but without success. They didn’t bother looking at all. And then I stopped talking and just kept on looking in amazement. I didn’t know what it meant. At that time I didn’t know anything about Jesus, God, or the Bible. Neither did I know anything about God revealing Himself to people sometimes even in supernatural ways – like He did to me through that vision.

But this picture I saw somehow stayed vivid in my memory. It has accompanied me quietly all through the years, waiting in the back of my mind for the moment when everything would just click together in perfect harmony in the revelation of Jesus Christ. Although coming to this point took some more years, years of longing for a God that I hadn’t known back then, and years of desperately seeking for the meaning of life and something to hold on to in the troubled times of my teenage age – but God at the proper time found me with the message of the cross. He reached out to me from on high, took my hand, and led me to the cross and to the knowledge of His saving power in Christ Jesus.

I will never forget the morning just right after my conversion: I woke up and felt that something had changed. Light has dawned on me. God surrounded me with His arms of love. What a feeling, what a relief – and the heavy, unbearable burden of sins just removed from me and grace, grace, grace… grace all over me. There are no words to describe what I felt; what a difference it brought into my life. And all because of the cross, because of that suffering and sacrifice of God’s Son: the Lord Jesus.

The cross the Lord so graciously revealed to me at that young age, has stood the test of time. The political system was gone, the ruling powers were replaced, but the work of the Lord has remained. And not only has it remained, but it has mightily prevailed in my life, too. Thank You, Lord Jesus, for the cross! And thank You, my holy, heavenly Father for loving us – loving me – so much so as to give Your Son for us. I am eternally grateful to You.

The Cross in the Sky” bejegyzéshez ozzászólás

    1. Thank you so much for reading it and for commenting – and yes, it is so good to remind ourselves of the grace we found in the Lord. And thank you for your inspiring posts, too – I am so much blessed by reading them. Blessings to you.

  1. Visszajelzés: Just a few words about me… | Fókuszban az Ige/The Word in Focus

  2. God is so good! thank you for sharing the story of how God found you, gave you a sign, and continued to reveal Himself to you. As we celebrate Easter I join with you in praising God for His overwhelming Grace and Mercy. He is risen! Allelujuah!

Comments/Hozzászólások

